In the Garden: May

bleeding heart

I’m not a very experienced gardener, but I do enjoy pottering around in the dirt, and I love the satisfaction of eating something I’ve grown.

This year, in an effort to reduce costs but maximize pleasure and yield, I’ve made a very edited list of what I’m going to do.

image

The herbs are all started from seed, and are just beginning to pop through the soil, as is the lettuce and spinach.

pea plantUntil this past weekend, the peas worried me. I sprouted them in water inside in early April, changing out the water daily, and planted them April 15, as I have for the past few years. This spring was an unusually cold one though, and there were a number of really hard frosts. Maybe the cold slowed down the peas? For there was no sign of them until this weekend, and now look at them- they are alive! And growing! Soon they will reach the trellis and need to be coaxed around it, and shortly thereafter, the pea pods will begin to appear.

pea trellis

For the past two years, I’ve done a second planting in the same bed around the end of June to make sure we have peas all summer long.

While I wait for the first peas, I’m just enjoying the flowers and chives that are in season.

muscari dark eyes

 

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life, garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

