Eats: Tate’s Bake Shop Copycookies

tate's cookies

I’m a really big fan of Tate’s Bakeshop cookies. Perfectly crispy and buttery, they really are exactly what I want in my chocolate chip cookie. Unfortunately, they are also rather expensive in my local store (even on sale!).

When I heard that Kathleen King (the owner of Tate’s) had included the recipe in her cookbook Tate’s Bake Shop Cookbook, I simply had to try it. It’s not exactly the same as the one you can buy in the store (I’m guessing because she has a convection oven and professional equipment), but it’s pretty close, and the resulting cookies are absolutely delicious.

Tate’s Bake Shop Chocolate Chip Cookies
Recipe from Tate’s Bake Shop Cookbook by Kathleen King
Makes 4 1/2 dozen 3-inch cookies

INGREDIENTS
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
1 teaspoon water
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 large eggs (room temperature)
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips (I had one cup, then used a food processor to break up a chocolate bar for the other cup)

DIRECTIONS
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Grease cookie sheets. I found I got the crispiest cookies when the pan was already hot- so put your pans in the oven while you prepare the batter.

In one bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt.

In another large bowl, cream the butter and sugars (I used a standing mixer), then add the water and vanilla until just combined. Add the eggs and mix until just incorporated.

Stir in the flour mixture (I did it in 3 parts) until just combined- do NOT overmix the dough. Then add in the chocolate chips.

Remove hot cookie tray from the oven. Take a tablespoon and portion out 1Tbs balls of dough.

Warning- these cookies spread like mad. My first batch had several cookies stuck together that I needed a metal spatula to separate. The original instructions say 2 in apart, I tried 3 in apart, and then settled for 4 in apart. I ended up being able to put 6 cookies per standard cookie tray.

Bake them for 6 min, then turn the tray 180 degrees, and bake for 6-8 minutes more. They should just be brown on the outside.

Using a spatula, quickly remove the cookies from the pan and put them on a wire rack to cool. Although they seem soft when they are just out of the oven, they quickly firm up and can break if they stay on the cookie tray too long. If you can’t work fast enough, you can always add the tray back in the oven for another minute or so, just so they get soft and easy to work with again.

Repeat the portioning of the dough/baking/cooling until all the batter is gone.

Once cool, store the cookies in an airtight container to maintain crispness.

These cookies are truly amazing, and disappeared at an alarming rate in my house. I hope my notes help someone else make delicious copycookies, though nothing can really beat the original Tate’s.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in baking, everyday life, food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eats: Tate’s Bake Shop Copycookies

Leave a Reply

