The Wailin’ Jennys at Prescott Park, Portsmouth NH

the wailin jennys

The Wailin’ Jennys came to Prescott Park this past Thursday. I’d been wanting to see them for a few years, but all the other shows in New England seemed to fall on impossible dates for me. It was more than worth the wait though.

Prescott Park is an outdoor venue in Portsmouth, NH, so we crossed our fingers for the weather. Luckily it was a nice clear night, if a little hot and humid. My friend and I arrived a little late since we had driven from work, but it was no problem. We paid at the gate (it’s all by donation, though they do post a sign with suggested amounts) and headed in with a small cooler of food. We were at the side of the stage, but it didn’t matter since the sound carried beautifully through the night. They did two sets, then stayed to sell and sign CDs. They seemed really friendly and truly grateful for the large crowd that came out midweek to see them.

The last song of the night was “One Voice” (I’ve linked an older video of them performing it below) and it gave me goosebumps all over. I’m so glad I finally got to hear them in person. They are one of those bands that sound even better outside of the recording studio. Check out their website here. They will be back in New England next spring!

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in culture, everyday life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

