Whoopie Pie Ice Cream with a Chocolate Swirl

whoopie pie ice cream

I always said I would be in so much trouble if I owned an ice cream maker. This has proved to be an accurate prediction. I borrowed my mom’s yesterday and have made a batch of ice cream both yesterday and today (and liberally sampled both batches, obviously).

This ice cream making experiment all started because of the amazing whoopie pie ice cream I had in Maine last weekend. I had it covered with hot fudge, and it might be my favorite ice cream I had all summer! I decided I needed to recreate this treat at home.

I used the standard vanilla ice cream recipe from Cusinart (I skipped the let it chill overnight part). I let it run in the ice cream maker for 20 minutes, swirled some homemade chocolate sauce through, then chopped up a whoopie pie (I cheated and bought one at the local bakery- but I couldn’t justify eating a batch of whoopie pies and a batch of ice cream) and added it as well. I did sample a little then (had to be sure it was okay, right?), but the rest went into old yogurt containers that I put as far back in the freezer as possible. An hour later, the ice cream had hardened slightly and was ready to eat. I think it was even better than what I had in Maine.

IMG_3086

 

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life, food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

