A New Englander in NYC: Eataly

IMG_3102

If you have some spare time in NYC and like Italian food, you should visit Eataly. It’s a magical combination of a marketplace and seven different restaurants. Everything is organized into different sections of Italian foods- pasta (fresh, dried, pasta restaurant), gelato, espresso, deli meat, butcher shop meat, olive oil, cheese, fruits and vegetables….the list goes on. There are amazing things there, like the huge cheese rounds (pictured above) and entire legs of prosciutto. There are also really expensive Italian designed coffee accessories- I did raise my eyebrows when I saw a sugar bowl that cost $90.

It’s huge. I kept on thinking “We must have seen it all,” but we kept on turning around a counter and seeing more. I wanted to buy almost everything there, but we walked away with some Parmesan cheese that had been aged for 36 months, prosciutto, ladyfingers, and some clementine flavored Sanpallegrino (which I didn’t even know existed). I wish we could have spent more time (and money) there, but I’ll definitely go back the next time I’m in the city.

Eataly is located at 200 5th Avenue New York, NY 10010

 

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in food, new york city, restaurant, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

