Recently Eating: November

It was a bad day, but Dessert For Two’s Simple Chocolate Cupcakes came to the rescue! I made 4 full sized ones instead of the 10 mini (bake the big ones for ~20 minutes at 350F) and added mini chocolate chips to the batter. Triple chocolate cupcakes make life so much better.

This super tasty recipe from Aggie’s Kitchen ranks up there as one of the easiest. Yes, it took around 45 minutes to bake, but all I had to do was chop, drop, drizzle, stir, and then put in the oven and ignore it. The onions, pepper (I used red instead of green), potato (I substituted sweet potatoes for regular), and chicken sausage all cooked together beautifully. Simple and easy recipes are so nice after long days.

I’m a big fan of farro, and this recipe from Real Simple uses it in a slow cooker to make a sort of risotto. The picture might not look great, but this was a real winner. I used 2 small split chicken breasts instead of the 4 chicken thighs the recipe called for since there were just two of us eating. The Parmesan rind is key in this recipe- it adds so much flavor. I just keep the rinds in a bag in the freezer and pull one out whenever I make a soup.

Aggie's chicken hard cider porkThis is another recipe from Aggie’s Kitchen. I wanted something that combined cider and meat, and this was great. Since there were just two of us eating and neither of us can have too much pork, I had the butcher slice two pork chops in half so they were nice and thin. We had one each for dinner, then some left over for lunch the next day. With rice to soak up the delicious sauce and a spinach salad on the side, this was a delicious fall meal. A bonus was that the only thing we needed to buy was the pork.

IMG_3449.JPG

IMG_3455.JPG

IMG_3458.JPG

IMG_3457.JPG

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in baking, everyday life, food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

