Sunday Baking: Breads Both Quick and Slow

Tea and baking supplies is all I need...

Tea and baking supplies is all I need…

Growing up, most of the bread I ate was homemade. My mom used to bake loaves of the best oatmeal bread nearly every weekend. The house smelled wonderful and welcoming and I used to try to sneak a piece while it was still warm enough for the butter to melt on it (for which I was always told off).

Now that I’m grown, I try to eat only homemade bread or loaves from a local bakery. I don’t eat that much of it, but when I do I like it to taste wonderful and to be sliced thickly.

This Sunday, I decided to make a batch of my mom’s oatmeal bread. It’s adapted from the Fannie Farmer cookbook recipe here.

oatmeal bread

While the bread was rising (it’s clearly fall when it takes 2+ hours for the first rise), I decided to use up a can of pumpkin purée I had sitting in the cupboard and make a quick pumpkin bread.

pumpkin bread

The recipe I used is from Better Homes and Gardens, but I made a few changes. I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, which was plenty, and I added in 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips.

pumpkin bread

By the time I went to bed, the house smelled absolutely wonderful. I left out one loaf of each kind and froze the other two for another day.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in baking, everyday life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

