Winter Fitness Goals

dog walks

I love being active. From walks with the dog to kayaking in the summer and skiing in the winter, I like to be outside.

Every season, I like to make a fitness goal for myself. It helps me stay in shape and I like the feeling of accomplishing something that I’ve worked towards for a long time. It doesn’t always work out. This fall, my goal was to run a four mile race on Thanksgiving day. The training went well and I was feeling great, but the snowstorm we got meant that I just couldn’t run the race. I counted it as a sort of win- I’d run four miles in training at a pace that I was proud of but didn’t go to the actual event. Next year, for sure, I will make that run happen!

While we were in Maryland for Christmas, I learned how to play racquetball. Now, I’m much more of a long distance person. I mountain bike, road bike, and ski. Racquetball is all about the sprinting, so it’s totally different. I found out there are some courts decently close, so I’d love to start playing on a weekly basis.

cross country skiing

I’ve been cross country skiing a lot, especially considering the lack of snow. Last year, I did a classical ski marathon. This year, I’d like to do two half marathons- one skating, one classical. I’m not the fastest skier in the world (I haven’t raced since high school) but it’s one of my favorite things to do in winter.

Lastly, I’d like to start stretching more. I’ve been slacking recently and my poor hamstrings are ridiculously tight. I went to a yoga class on Friday and just 90 minutes later I felt so much more balanced in my body. Ideally, I’d like to go to class once a week.

So, those are my goals this winter- racquetball, skiing, and yoga. I suppose they are an odd mix, but I think they are sort of complementary. It should be fun!

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life, skiing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

