Life in Mid-January

You know it’s January in New England when you find yourself saying things like, “Oh, it’s warm out- like 15F.” It’s been pretty chilly around here, often in the negatives every morning. I don’t mind the cold (I have long underwear! And coats! And hats! And gloves!) but it has meant fewer dog walks, as my best girl doesn’t do that well below 16 degrees.

That means that when it is “warm” like last night (21!!) we take advantage and take her skiing after work in the dark. I’ve actually been skiing a lot, all bundled up. I’m fine when I’m moving, but on the ride home I get so chilly so need to hop in the shower right away . A mug of hot chocolate also takes away the chill pretty well! The cold also means that I’ve been meeting more friends for indoor evenings- drinks and meals where it is nice and warm. There is something cozy about these dark and freezing January nights. There’s been lots of cooking and baking and many books (and blogs) read snuggled up under multiple blankets.

2015/01/img_0845.jpg

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

