A Weekend in Jay Peak: Backcountry Snowboarding

snowy trees

After a morning spent cross country skiing, we decided on an afternoon of backcountry snowboarding.

We headed back to the cabin to change our gear and repack our pals. It’s often referred to as “earning your turns” since you have to hike up to the top of a mountain or ridge with your snowboard on before you get to enjoy the downhill.

 

We strapped snowshoes onto our huge snowboarding boots, and shouldered our packs, then headed up the trail. And up and up….

hiking up

It’s sweaty work for sure, but the scenery was nice and the company was great. We could see the tracks of people who had done the same thing earlier that day, but there were still plenty of places to find fresh snow.

We got to the top, took off our snowshoes and strapped them to our packs, put on our helmets and stepped onto our snowboards.

view from the top

It was my first time actually backcountry snowboarding. It sort of reminded me of mountain biking- you need to think about the best line you can take. It’s totally different though, because it is pretty easy to end up with so much snow on top of your board that you get stuck. I learned to lean way back and weight my back foot to keep my tip up out of the snow.

I fell. I fell a lot. I wish I had a video of one of my falls- I made a turn around a tree, tried to grab another one to slow down, missed, and fell over face first into the snow. Then my snowshoes on my pack hit me on the head. I was very thankful I was wearing a helmet.

backcountry

Even with all the falling, I loved it. It was so much fun; I’m pretty sure I grinned the whole way down. I was sad when we met the trail again and we had to hike out. I got bitten by the backcountry but for sure!

We got down just in time to see the sun setting over the ridge.

sunset

 

 

 

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in snowboarding, vermont and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

