An Overnight at the Joe Dodge Lodge

joe dodge lodge

I’ve spent several nights at two AMC huts (the Carter and the Zealand) so I was expecting something along those lines at the Joe Dodge. I was wrong though- it was so much nicer. We arrived just in time for dinner to be served (4 courses- bread, salad, meat, sides, veggie options, and cupcakes for dessert!) then walked through the freezing night to get our room keys at the lodge.

IMG_3927They have a variety of rooms- some bunk beds, and some double beds like I stayed in. The bathrooms are shared, but they even have showers and provided towels and linens!

IMG_3936
In the morning, it was around -9F and I quickly made my way across to the other building where I knew breakfast was waiting for me.

IMG_3933They really have everything available buffet style- pancakes, waffles, cinnamon rolls, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, cold cereals, yogurt, fruit, coffee, tea, etc. There was so much food available! I liked that everyone mixed at breakfast and talked about their plans for that day. All the people I met were really friendly.

Overall, I was really impressed with the lodge. It’s a great, relatively inexpensive place to stay and close to the AMC trail, the Mt. Washington access road, Great Glen, and Wildcat Mountain.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in hotel, new hampshire and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Overnight at the Joe Dodge Lodge

  1. Moritz says:

    Looks and sounds really nice. A warm and cozy place to stay is just perfect in a cold winter night 🙂

  2. Pingback: Skiing at Great Glen | A New Englander's Life

Leave a Reply

