Hello Fresh, Winter Edition

Every season, I get to a point where for around a week I just run out of meal ideas. It’s like I’ve done everything with the seasonal ingredients that my brain can handle. That’s when it’s nice to have someone else do the meal planning (and deliver the ingredients to your door).

I first tried Hello Fresh last summer and really liked it. This was only my second box, but I noticed some pretty big changes.

First of all, getting food delivered and left on the porch works much better in New England in the summer (they include ice packs). Even though the box was only left out for a couple of hours, I did notice that the more delicate herbs, the Bok Choy, and the potato were pretty frozen by the time I got home from work.

IMG_3974

IMG_4010Secondly, it’s pretty obvious that the company has been expanding rapidly. The first time around, the meals were all packed in nice labelled bags (this time there were no labels) and the recipes were on cards at the top before, whereas this time they were in a little booklet that had slid to the bottom of the package under the ice packs.

The meals were very tasty though! The meatball pho, though not authentic, was so good and warming and my favorite. We also had roman chicken and a warm orzo salad with chicken sausage and veggies.

meatball pho

One of my main complaints last time was that there weren’t enough vegetables included, but given these meals, they’ve fixed that now.

roman chicken

the portions also seemed larger- we didn’t finish the orzo sausage dish (and we eat a lot).

sausage orzo pilaf leftovers

One of the things I really liked was that all the ingredients were perfectly portioned out. This time, the pho only used half a package of noodles, which isn’t really a problem, except they are now taking up space in my cupboard.

It was a nice break from me having to meal plan. The recipes always take longer than they claim, but I was expecting that. I wasn’t expecting frozen veggies though, and I think I’ll wait until it’s quite a bit warmer to order my next box.

PS- If you want to try a box at a discount, you can use code AHQDWC. You’ll get $40 off and I’ll get $20 off.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

