Bees!

IMG_4075

IMG_4054

Last weekend’s, I headed over to my friend’s house to help her clean out her beehives. I’ve been interested in having my own hives for a little while now (though it probably won’t happen this year).

Her bees didn’t make it through the very cold winter (which is sadly common for bee keepers around here), but she was determined to try again and start afresh in late April with new bees. We cleaned out the hives for the bees so that they would find their new home nice and appealing. It was sad to see a hive that didn’t make it, but it also made me appreciate bees and the work that beekeepers do around here to make sure their bees survive.

After a couple hours of helping, I was given some honeycomb as a thank you. My friend taught me to break off a bit with a knife and enjoy the wonderful flavor of fresh local honey. It really is quite a treat.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

