Eats: Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream

  A few weeks ago, I went out for ice cream and had the most delicious flavor- chocolate ice cream with chocolate chips, and then chocolate chip cookie dough. It was brilliant! I decided to recreate it with my wonderful ice cream maker. Boy was it a success.

I wanted to make the cookie dough myself and have it be egg free since I was going to freeze it raw (different people have different thoughts about raw eggs- I’ll eat a spoonful of raw cookie dough if I’m baking cookies, but didn’t feel comfortable with eating tons of it). I used the cookie dough recipe from the Brown Eyed Baker. Seriously, you have to make that stuff, even if it’s just to snack on. It starts off like making normal cookies (creaming the butter and sugar, adding vanilla, then flour) but then you add some cream to loosen up the batter, skip the eggs all together and add mini chocolate chips. I took teaspoon fulls of the batter and froze them on a tray, just for a little while so the chunks of dough would stick together.

I used this recipe from Cuisinart for the chocolate ice cream (the recipe booklet came with the ice cream maker and so far I’ve liked all of the ones I’ve tried from it). Because it’s such a simple recipe, you have to use good cocoa powder! I used this one from Dean’s Beans. It’s absolutely delicious.I made the ice cream base, then let the machine do its churning magic for about 15 minutes while I cleaned up the kitchen a bit.

Once the ice cream was ready, I worked quickly and stirred in about 1/2 cup of the mini chocolate chips, then the cookie dough. At this point, most of the ice cream is still really soft so I put it in containers and stuck it in the back of the freezer. There was a bit of ice cream that had been close to the freezer bowl and therefore got really hard, so I waited for that to melt a bit then added left over cookie dough and chocolate chips to it and had myself a delicious bowl of chocolatey goodness.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in baking, eats and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

