A New Englander in the Scottish Highlands

highlands 1

I’ve dreamed about visiting the Highlands for years. Even though my family were lowlanders, I always was fascinated by the landscape and the culture up further north.

My cousin and I did a quick two day excursion into the highlands, which just made me want to go back and spend much more time there. I’m already contemplating doing part of the West Highland Way….

We started in Glasgow and went north on the A82, by Loch Lomond. I entertained my cousin as he drove, first by first singing “On the bonny bonny banks of Loch Lomond,” then by trying to pronounce the names. Crianlarich anyone? As we got farther north, the scenery kept amazing me. We went up to Glencoe, then to Fort William where we climbed Aonach Mor and saw some pretty impressive panoramas.

highlands 2

highlands 3

After heading back down, we got back in the car and headed to Arisaig, and then to Morar where I saw the silver sands. Who knew there were white sand beaches in Scotland? Though I must say, the climate didn’t come close to matching that of some tropical island.

highlands 5Then we were on to Mallaig, which was just a small fishing village when my uncle grew up there. Hearing the family stories and seeing the places that had changed and those that stayed the same was one of my favorite parts of the trip.

highlands 6My cousin and I returned to Glencoe for the night, then went to Oban in the morning. My Great Uncle (who has sadly passed) lived there for years, so my cousin was pretty familiar with the place. We wandered around and ended up in an old fashioned candy shop where I stocked up on all sorts of goodies to bring back to the States. We wandered around McCaig’s Tower- an odd replica of the Roman Colosseum- that had a great view of Oban, then piled back in the car for our drive back to Glasgow.

highlands 7

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in scotland, travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

