If you go out in the woods today

If you go out in the woods today
You’re sure of a big surprise.
If you go out in the woods today
You’d better go in disguise.

For every bear that ever there was
Will gather there for certain, because
Today’s the day the teddy bears have their picnic.

The Teddy Bear’s Picnic by Jimmy Kennedy

image

That song has been running through my head this weekend, since on Friday the pups and I saw a black bear in the woods! We were going on our usual morning walk (we alternate trails, but frequently do this one) when I heard a rustling in the woods. I called them back to me and leashed them, thinking it was just turkeys or deer, both of which we see frequently. My plan was just to walk by the animal(s) then free the dogs a little up the trail so that we could finish the loop. Those plans went totally out the window however when I got a little closer. I could hear this weird hissing sound, then when I got even closer, I realized that it was a black bear that was in a tree just off the trail! We were super close to it at this time…maybe 10-20 feet away. One of the dogs was having none of it and ran back down the trail, and the other hid behind me. I was totally freaked as well (turns out my flight instinct is going strong) and we backed away then ran all the way up the trail back to the car. I know the bear was probably as scared as we were, but it was pretty freaky. My adrenaline was going for a number of hours after that!

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life, hike and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If you go out in the woods today

  1. That song goes with it well!

Leave a Reply

