Giant Zucchini

IMG_5493

Not quite baseball bat size, but it weighed over 2lbs!

It’s the New England farmer’s classic problem- you check the zucchini plants every day and none of them are ready, but then all of a sudden, you have a massive zucchini on your hands! When I was a kid, my mom accidentally grew a zucchini the size of a baseball bat. Oops.

My favorite way to eat zucchini is just to saute it, but that doesn’t work with these larger ones- they’re not as tender, and the flavor is a little stronger. One of my favorite ways to use up giant zukes is by creating zucchini bread (links to recipes I’ve liked here and here). However, it’s currently hovering near 90 degrees, and there is no way I’m turning on my oven. Enter zucchini fritters!

These are super simple to make- just grate the zucchini, drain it, add some flour, cheese, and an egg and cook them up. I used this recipe here and they turned out great. Granted, you do need to use your stove, but it doesn’t take long at all and I think it’s worth it. I just pointed a fan at myself while I was cooking.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life, food, garden and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

