Vote!

This election year (years?) has been particularly awful. I had to stop listening to the radio and reading about polls a couple of weeks ago because it was stressing me out too much. It’s good to be informed, but not when it made me unable to sleep!

All that said, I feel really strongly that it’s important to vote this year, especially for women. Less than 100 years ago, women weren’t allowed to vote and it took a lot of protesting, being called names, being locked in jail, and even women dying to secure the right to vote. Even if you can’t bring yourself to vote for either of the presidential candidates, there should be at least one candidate on the ballot you can get behind. In my state, we are voting for governor, US Congress, US Senate, plus state positions, all the way down to district commissioners.

So please, exercise your right to vote! Even if you are busy, you can fit it in. I have to vote right when the polls open because I work all day then have First Aid training until 9:30pm, but I’m going to make it happen.

 

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

