A New Englander in Maryland: Fishing in the Chesapeake Bay

I haven’t gone fishing since I was maybe twelve years old, but while in Maryland for Thanksgiving the opportunity to go fishing on a friend’s boat presented itself and I just went for it. I figured if worst came to worst, I like boats, early mornings, and friends so it would still be a good day even if I was a horrible fisherwoman. 


The sun was just starting to come up when we arrived at the dock. We loaded up the boat and headed out onto the water.


The sunrise was gorgeous as we made out way to the fishing spot.


We set up near Holland Island, which used to be inhabited but erosion has left only some shrubs and old house frames. It turned out to be the perfect spot, and I caught the first fish (rockfish- a kind of bass) of the day! It was too small to keep, but I got the ball rolling for everyone else as well. 


Over the course of the day I got so much better at casting, which made me happy! 


We stayed out until around noon then headed back to shore with some fish for dinner. It was a pretty great day on the Bay, even if it was a bit grey.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in environment, maryland, mornings, travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

