Foraging for Holiday Decorations


November and December can be a bit grey in New England, but some festive fairy lights and bright colors can make a world of difference to my mood. I think that’s one reason I like decorating for the holidays!

Since my budget isn’t big, I like to go outside and scavenge bits to bring inside. Even though it might seem like all the leaves are brown and the sky is grey (name that song!), you can still find red berries and evergreen branches in the woods around here.

I took the dog for a hike on Sunday and came back with some branches and a vine with red berries. The pinecones were picked up on a previous walk. 

When I got home I just arranged the berries and branches in a vase, added some water and ribbon, and voila- I had a pretty centerpiece that cost me nothing at all.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

