Yay for 2017

Instead of a long list of resolutions, I like choosing on thing to focus on in a year. 

In 2015, I decided to do things I wanted to do even if I couldn’t find anyone to go with me. This was life-changing for someone who is as shy as I am! I’ve continued this practice ever since and have gone to concerts, yoga workshops, and restaurants by myself. It still takes some courage for me to go, but it’s so great to know I will be fine even if I go alone.

In 2016, I focused on choosing happiness. I do not by nature focus on the bright side of life, so this was a way for me to change my mindset. The main thing I took away from this practice was that happiness is a mindset and a habit. It’s also not about ignoring the bad stuff- just recognizing that even if everything is falling apart around you, you can internally remain happy. It’s definitely a practice- I need to keep choosing to be happy over and over again. I didn’t always succeed with choosing happiness (there were some rough times for my family and for the world in 2016!) but I think I’ve come a long way. 

In 2017, I want to create a daily habit of meditation. I’ve dabbled before, especially in times of stress, but have never made it a daily practice. I feel much more centered when I meditate every day- much more in touch with my own wishes and desires. If I know what I want, I’m much more likely to follow my own path and not be swayed by external expectations.

Welcome 2017- I’m glad you’re here.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life, wellness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

