Women’s March Boston

Saturday was a very exciting day for me- I went to Boston with a friend to attend the Women’s March. As soon as I heard about the event, I had a strong feeling that I had to go to make my voice heard, and I’m so glad I did!


A couple weeks before the march, my friend sent me a link to the Pussy Hat project. I’m not the best knitter, but I knew I could make this simple hat. It came together very fast!

Getting to the march on Saturday ended up being more of an adventure than we had planned on. We ended up walking over 4 miles from Porter Square all the way to Boston Common since all the busses and trains were packed. We were so lucky -it was a lovely day for a walk across the city, and as we crossed the Longfellow Bridge into Boston surrounded by people also going to the march, I got goosebumps.


The Common was packed (the latest estimate I saw was that 175,000 people were there!). I’ve never been in a crowd that big, but people were cheerful, energetic, and polite and it was so inspiring to be surrounded by people supporting women’s rights, black rights, and immigrant’s rights. 


There were all sorts of chants going through the crowd “si se puede/yes we can” “tell me what democracy looks like/this is what democracy looks like” “immigrants are welcome here” are just a few of them. People who lived in apartments on the Common were holding signs and flags too and taking videos!


Finally, we started to march. We marched along the Common, up part of Comm Ave and back to the Common, and as we passed the Unitarian Universalist Church right next to Newbury St, we could hear the bell ringers playing “Ode to Joy.”


It was such an inspiring day just to see so many people of all ages and so many different backgrounds coming together to make their voices heard. I am so glad I was there to make history.

My feet are sore (I walked 7.6 miles total!) but my heart is full.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in boston and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

