Early Season XC Skiing

snowshoeingDuring the summer, spring, and fall, I’m usually road biking, mountain biking, or hiking. The Thanksgiving snowstorm we had last week kind of ended that, but I’ve moved on to my winter sports of choice- cross country skiing and snowshoeing. I love cross country skiing so much. It’s a great way to get some exercise (works arms, legs, abs, and balance), plus it’s fun to go fast on skis. And, once you have the skis, it can be pretty cheap.

skiing

There is a great trail network not far from my house where we mountain bike and hike in the summer. In winter, it’s the perfect spot for some backcountry skiing or snowshoeing. We don’t go very fast- you never know where a rock or root is- but it’s very pretty and a great activity to do with friends.

There are also a couple of places locally that actually groom trails for nordic skiing. These trails are much faster and better maintained, but you often have to pay for them. Luckily, there is a school near us that allows the public to use their trails. It was too early in the season for the place to have been groomed, but a snowmobile had been around and made a pretty good surface to ski on.

groomed trailsThese few days of skiing in November have been such an unexpected gift. I’ve already been out four times, but given today’s high temperatures I don’t expect the snow to stick around for long. Oh well. Hopefully more will come soon.

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life, skiing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment