Apple Picking with a View at Gould Hill Farm

iphone backup 102514 018

It took almost to the end of apple season, but I did make it to an orchard, and I did pick apples, and I did eat hot and fresh apple cider donuts. I count that as a massive success.

iphone backup 102514 005

A recommendation from a friend led me to Gould Hill Farm in Contoocook, NH. It’s pretty easy to get to from both I89 and I93 and the parking lot was filled with cars from all of the New England states and beyond. I could certainly see why. First of all, it’s gorgeous. The orchard is set on top of a ridge so there is an amazing view.

iphone backup 102514 010 iphone backup 102514 011 iphone backup 102514 009

You can even see the mountains in between the rows of trees.

iphone backup 102514 012

They are also one of the few orchards that has enough October apples left to let people pick them yourself, but even their trees were starting to show that it is the end of the season. I ended up with a peck of Hampshire apples, which I had never tasted before.

iphone backup 102514 016

They also have giant bins inside where you can choose from already picked apples, but I always think part of the fun is to choose my own.

iphone backup 102514 014

iphone backup 102514 013

They also make their own apple cider donuts. I got a dozen (they are pretty small and we have guests this weekend) that were still hot and ate one as I wandered the orchard. They don’t keep for long, but I’m sure they will be gone by tonight. I didn’t sample anything else they had for sale, but coffee, cider (hot and cold), pies, and pumpkin whoopie pies were for sale.

iphone backup 102514 017

This is the last weekend they are letting people pick in the orchard, but they will still be open daily after that until December 21.

It’s worth a visit, even if just to take in the view.

iphone backup 102514 006

About anewenglanderslife

Hi, I'm Elle. I live in a small town in New England. I love to cook, bake, eat, be outside and active, and go on adventures.
This entry was posted in everyday life, food, new hampshire and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Apple Picking with a View at Gould Hill Farm

  1. Pingback: Fall Goal #3: Have Fun | A New Englander's Life

Leave a comment